The Week, The Weekend, And Honey Ginger Cake With Sour Cherry Jam

IMG_3553

Today I am just happy.

When I look back at this week, it has been so full. Weekdays can barely be distinguished from weekends but somehow there is a balance amidst all the activity. Meetings beyond count. 20 hours and 800 lines of event budgeting. Driving lessons. Dinner out with friends. Time spent working with the construction team on the new kitchen; time spent constructing the plan for Karmapa’s visit with the kitchen team. The community mini-retreat that is our monthly morning of group practice. A talk with my sister; e-mails with my parents. The first of a series of community discussions about our Future, capital F and what we’d like to share about it with Karmapa when he comes.

IMG_3559

No moment has lacked richness. I did so incredibly many productive things and somehow still had time to make this cake and have a cup of tea with friends this afternoon. I know my two a.m. budget finish line from last night will make me tired tomorrow, but mostly I’m stunned that I’m not already flat on my ass.

This same amount of busy-ness and activity in the past would have knocked me over. I’d have been sick and tired and grumpy as hell. I think partly I have learned how to do more, but also I have learned how to fret less. When I see a whole crap ton of things to do coming, I’m not immediately petrified that it is totally impossible for me to do them and thus not immediately incapacitated and totaly stressed throughout it all. From all of the doing that I’ve been doing at Dhagpo these last two years, I’ve developed some confidence that…I can accomplish things.
And that if I can’t, I can say so and find a way to work with that.

IMG_3564

There’s also another aspect. Which is this place and its people. There’s something in the water, or the trees, or the history, or maybe something much less abstract than that. I think it’s what we call blessing. That often sounds so mystical, but Jigme Rinpoche is quick to remind us that blessing is anything but mystical. It’s practical.

As I grasp it, blessing works like this: understanding leads to change, and both understanding and change develop exponentially more with a group, and multi-exponentially more with a qualified guide who can point you in the right direction to help you refine your understanding.

IMG_3571

At Dhagpo, we have all the pieces. We are blessed. Hard work becomes less hard because it is meaningful and shared, and what we normally think of as not-directly productive (ahem, lieeesure) becomes productive because it supports the bonds that help us work well together. Even cake is a practice when it is an offering.

And so, I’m both grateful to be able to and quite happy to offer you this springtime version of French spice cake. Like typical French pain d’épices, this cake is honey-rich and has a good dose of ginger. But unlike typical French pain d’épices this cake does not have the I-suppose-nostalgic-but-always-disappointing texture of cardboard. And it does have a touch of allspice for additional depth and a generous spread of sour cherry jam for that springtime boost. Moist, surprisingly light, and delightfully simple to make (No creaming butter! Yay for French baking techniques!), it’s perfect for a Sunday afternoon on the deck, or however you like.

Recipe…

Honey Ginger Cake With Sour Cherry Jam

2 3/4 cups (357 grams) all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon (15 mL) ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon (2 mL) ground allspice
1 1/2 teaspoons (8 mL) baking powder
1/2 teaspoon (3 mL) salt
1 1/2 sticks (175 grams) unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups (500 grams) honey
2 eggs, room temperature
1/2 cup (120 mL) sour cherry jam (Bonne Maman makes a good one)
Preheat the oven to 350˚ F (180˚ C)

Line two eight-inch (20 cm) round cake pans with parchment paper and butter the sides of each pan.

In a medium bowl, sift together the dry ingredients.

In a small saucepan, melt the butter. Pour the butter into a large bowl and add the honey. Stir together to cool the butter slightly. Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each egg. Add the dry ingredients, and mix until combined. Split the batter evenly between the two pans. Bake for thirty-five to forty minutes until cake springs back when tough and a toothpock insterted in the center comes out clean.

Allow cake layers to cool completely. Cut the dome off of one cake layer and dole out the pieces to approved taste-testers. Spread the jam over the flat cake layer and place the second cake layer on top, dome side up. Share with friends and sunshine and gratitude.

2 thoughts on “The Week, The Weekend, And Honey Ginger Cake With Sour Cherry Jam

Leave a Reply

