Hazelnut Lavender Bites and Representing “Real Life”

IMG_0508I’m having stylistic questions. For instance, I just started this post with a conversational, self-referential statement. It’s friendly and easy and lots of days I feel like that. The ability to just start talking makes showing up here simple and manageable. And yet, some days I feel like I start to sound a little redundant. Blogging is a form of writing that has developed its own style, and friendly conversation is generally part of it. However, sometimes it makes jotting off an idea quick and dirty, instead of allowing or forcing the space to reflect and refine both my thoughts and my words a bit more.

IMG_0552

Lately, I have been discovering more writers who use the web as a place for deep reflection, storytelling, literature even. They inspire me. They also shed light on my own yearning for something…I dunno, more elaborate? More crafted and researched. Thus, I wonder, “What else or how else might I want to write?” and, “Is that writing a natural evolution of this blog space, or is it a new project that will happen somewhere else?”

IMG_0510Another big question that’s been coming up: what is the gap between real life and what gets represented here? This is a topic that many others have broached–recently and eloquently: Joy, Sarah, and Ashley. Related questions include…Am I interested in trying to close that gap? What would it even look like to try to represent “real life?”

As a genre, food blogging and lifestyle blogging tend to be about creating and expressing a life that is beautiful and satisfying. The light is always soft, the rooms are always neat, and everything looks delicious. While we all know that life (our own life, at least) isn’t this way, there is something comforting and inspiring about this kind of beauty. And, let’s face it, unless you’re cracking up on Cakewrecks, hideous, badly-lit pictures of life, food especially, are not that engaging. There’s a certain aesthetic minimum that goes along with blogging; pictures help to draw people in and keep them invested.

IMG_0545And yet, there’s something engaging about chaos and struggle, too. It’s not that I have a macabre fascination with suffering. It’s just that rough times do happen. Emotions get hairy. Sometimes, the kitchen is a mess and it makes me cry. Sometimes, the kitchen being a mess is the least of my problems. I am not interested in miring myself in pain and making more of it. I am interested in expressing a life that leaves space for frustration and hardship to arise with as little judgment as possible.

IMG_0517

IMG_0529Does putting artistic pictures of the madness that is my cupboards and the unfortunate consequences of that madness (Rule #3 of Jacqui’s kitchen: everything falls. Watch out.) achieve this? I dunno. It is, at least, a start to considering the question.

Maybe all that’s needed is are minor, nearly imperceptible shifts. I could choose this:

IMG_0563Instead of this:

IMG_0561

That’s at least a slightly more complete vision of my dining room table and my life. Not lacking in objects I shove aside to photograph cookies or thoughts and things to do that I brush away, at least for a moment, to focus on prettier, more presentable aspects.

IMG_0569

At the same time, there’s something terribly sweet and fun about taking cute pictures of my beribboned hazelnut lavender bites and then taking them to friends. There is amusement, affection, and offering. And ribbon, ribbon is important! This is part of life too. I am trying to strike a balance, both in my life and in this space that I share, between striving to create joy and remembering to be patient with what is less than joy, when it arises.

Recipe after the jump…

Hazelnut Lavender Bites

Sumptuous and summery, these cookies are naturally gluten free. They bake to a toasty golden-brown for a crunchy outside with a rich, nutty interior. Notes of lavender complement sweet hazelnuts to create a balance of earthy and floral flavors. These make great easy gifts for friends and a perfect snack with tea.

1 1/4 cups (145 grams) ground hazelnuts (you can buy hazelnut meal at some natural grocery stores or you can grind it yourself in a blender or food processor)

2 tablespoons (18 grams) brown rice flour

1/2 teaspoon (2 grams) ground culinary lavender

1/4 cup (50 grams) granulated sugar

3 tablespoons (42 grams) butter, softened

1 egg

a pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350˚ F (180˚ C). Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone mats.

In a medium bowl, stir together hazelnuts, brown rice flour, and lavender. In another bowl or the bowl of an electric mixer, beat together butter and sugar, just until combined. Beat in egg and salt until fully incorporated. Add in dry ingredients. Mix until combined. Scoop by half-tablespoons onto baking sheets. Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until deep golden brown.

 

3 thoughts on “Hazelnut Lavender Bites and Representing “Real Life”

  1. I haven’t read the people you linked to, but I think that we need to realise that we are always representing ourselves in a certain way, whether it’s online or in real life. Some people more than others, and there are those who would say they’re a completely open book… but there is always something you hold back. I’m not sure that’s a bad thing. In this era where we seem to share everything, the private sphere has disappeared somewhat, and I think that’s a shame.

    I think I used to feel like what I was seeing online was pretty much everything there was to a person, but that’s a fairly naive view.

    Does that make sense? I’ve had like three hours’ sleep so it’s possible I’m just waffling.

    • I’d say you’re making quite a bit of sense, and I appreciate your thoughts. I think you are quite right when you say that “we are always representing ourselves in a certain way.” Maybe one could even take that idea a step further and say that we are creating ourselves and our vision of the world with what we choose to focus on and express.

      I view my blog not only as an expression of my life but also as a created work in and of itself. What and how I choose to post defines the message I am sharing. As a writer, as an artist, as a human being, I have to ask myself what questions I want to ask and what I feel is worth putting out in the world. For me it’s not so much a question of the public versus private sphere as the theme or message of my work. I don’t question strictly picturesque food and lifestyle blogs because they are not one hundred percent “honest.” I’m not about to begin trying to define honesty in the context of the web. Rather, I question them because, for me, inspiration comes not from pictures of perfection but from images of life where people experience difficulty and worth with it, and I would like my work to reflect that.

  2. Pingback: On Writing Freely, Pt 1. | a/void/in/the/truth

Leave a Reply

