Cashew Butter Cookies and Questions About Time

IMG_1217

Times is busy lately. Last week I finally managed to bum rides to the grocery store and the coop, and I was so thrilled to be able to buy ingredients that I maybe overdid it. I stocked up things for at least four different very specific recipes (I did make some allusions to ice cream, and I feel obliged to follow through…duty, you know) and enough staples to whip up sudden inspirations. The trouble at present is that I’m just eking by with the things I actually need to do.

I think I’ve foreseen all the tasks I’ll have to accomplish–fold 1,500 origami boxes, produce ten exhibition worthy abstract drawings, prepare food for 50-100 people for four days–but I forget that every task involves a million subtasks, and each subtask takes an hour or two or eight, and I’ve still only started the fourth drawing and thank god I’ve found help with the boxes and we’ve managed to fold 200 in three days.

IMG_1212

Here’s what I wonder: Is my sense of how time will pass in the future inaccurate or do I just have an ingrained sense of poverty that there’s never enough time in the day? And if I could mellow out, would I find that, sure I’ll have to sacrifice some things (it may be a while before we see that white chocolate mousse tart), but at the end of every day, I had twenty four hours, and I got to live every second of them, and that’s hardly poverty.

For now I am still trying to do everything, even the fun things that I should probably pass up for the responsible things (ahem, ahem, cookies versus PR statements).

Recipe after the jump…

Cashew Butter Cookies

This recipe comes from a peanut butter cookie recipe. It has the traditional chewy, crumble texture, but a richer, milder nut flavor. It’s got a good dose of salt and touch of honey for contrast. I made super teeny ones in an attempt to have enough for everyone, and I wound up with about 5 dozen silver dollar-sized cookies.

Adapted from: A Cup of Jo

1 1/4 cups (160 g) all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 (3 g) teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (115 g) unsalted butter, softened

1 cup (200 g) turbinado sugar

1 tablespoon (20 g) honey

1 cup (240 g) cashew butter

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350˚ F/180˚ C.

In a medium bowl, sift together dry ingredients. In the stand of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter, sugar, and honey just until combined. Add cashew butter, egg and vanilla, and beat on medium until fully incorporated. Add dry ingredients and mix until combined.

Drop rounded teaspoonfuls of batter on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper or silicone mats. Leave one-and-a-half inches (3 cm)  between each dough ball. Bake for ten minutes, or until beginning to brown. If you like cookies with more crisp and a slightly roasty flavor, bake for 2-3 more minutes, but keep a close eye cuz they brown right quick once they get going.

Leave a Reply

