Cabin+Woods

IMG_0419

It has been all kinds of foggy here and there is a lovely, branchy tree in front of the center. It got me picture making. Funny thing though, I think the picture I wound up with qualifies as a good example of karma, inasmuch as karma is the habitual tendency of our minds. Because for some reason, even though I am in India, my mind put together winter and trees in an image that is New England-ish or Boreal, a thing it always seems to do. Strange in itself, considering that I grew up in California, but I have always lusted after northern winter. I guess I have Robert Frost, Henry Thoreau, and Jan Brett to thank for that. Maybe this time round, a good dose of credit goes to the lovely Nadia, who has been romancing winter and broken down cabins with her camera lately.

Cabin+Woods, Ink, Acrylic, and Colored Pencil on Paper, 12" x 9"

Cabin+Woods, Ink, Acrylic, and Colored Pencil on Paper, 12″ x 9″

Though this is more-or-less an involved doodle, I’m devoting some musing to it. My work right now exists entirely in the format of involved doodle, so I need to develop a legitimate relationship with small-scale works on paper, which I’m used to thinking of as catharsis or an afterthought. Mainly, I wish the trees were crisper and the ground matte. I’ve been told by a few different people that some of my work would really benefit from a transfer to printmaking. Here, I see their point and totally agree.

The pre-color version, potentially adaptable to printmaking.

The pre-color version, potentially adaptable to printmaking.

Wherever I am, I often feel like this: solitary, watching the world with breath held in, waiting for the next move, sea change, change of season.

I hope you have a lovely day in whatever season you are living in, in life and in your mind.

Leave a Reply

