Things To Draw: The Temple I Don’t Go To

That’s The Temple I Don’t Go To, 5 3/8″ x 8 1/2″, Watercolor, Ink, and Colored Pencil on Paper

The prompt particularly says, “That’s the temple I don’t go to.” I’m guessing this a movie reference or quote because of the source, but then again it could be based on little more than my friend’s wisecrack sense of humor.

The word temple immediately drew up all kinds of religious and sacred imagery, but I mostly have positive experiences going to synagogue with my dad or visiting historical Eastern temples. There’s nobody traditionally temple involved whose chops I feel like busting. So in the course of musing over what I could enthusiastically take issue with that also has recognizable symbolism, this became a commentary on greed. It’s not meant to be an accusation directed toward economics or capitalism, as those systems run well or poorly depending upon how they are directed. I guess I mean this mostly as a reminder of how dangerous worshipping in the temple of reckless desire is and as a finger pointed in the mirror, reminding me to ask myself what temples I’ve been patronizing lately.

Also, it was wildly fun to play with slightly macabre imagery, as I rarely tend toward that direction.

Leave a Reply

