Apricot Tart and Art Interims

Look…food! I know, it’s been a while since I posted any recipes. It’s not because I’ve stopped eating, hehe; it’s just that I’ve been doing a lot more arting than cooking lately.

What with the show coming up in September and a cousin of mine getting married in August, I feel like I have just maybe enough time to do everything I want to between now and then. Lately, my life’s been like this: I paint, and when I’m not painting, I work on my installation piece, and when I’m not working on my installation, I revise my artist statement, and when I’m not revising my artist statement, I build my website (more on that soon!), and when I’m not doing that, I try to breathe.

But once in awhile, I just can’t art anymore, and so I bake. Okay fine, so I occasionally sneak off to the beach– but I read art books when I’m there! In fact, I highly recommend The Diaries of Paul Klee and Extra/Ordinary: Craft and Contemporary Art. Back to my original point: this apricot tart will blow your mind and temporarily float all your worries away with its perfect blend of tangy fruit, creamy interior and crumbly, nutty crust. Apricot season is in full swing here in Southern California; I got these off my generous friends Brian and Carol’s tree. There’s really no comparing imported, grocery store apricots to farm-fresh ones. I highly recommend heading to your local farmer’s market or making a new friend when you drive past a house with an apricot tree in the yard. What better way to seal a friendship than with a gorgeous, scrumptious, home-made dessert?

Recipe after the jump…

Creamy Apricot Tart

Recipe adapted from Epicurious

Crust

8 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 egg yolk

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon almond extract

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour

2 tablespoons almond meal

Filling

3/4 cup crème fraîche

1 egg, lightly beaten

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 tablespoons honey

1 tablespoon all-purpose flour, sifted

10 medium apricots, halved and pitted

Preheat the oven to 350˚ Fahrenheit. Grease a nine-inch tart pan (or, if you’re like me and don’t have a tart pan, cut a piece of parchment to fit a cake pan and use that instead).

To make the crust, whisk together the butter, egg yolk, extracts, sugar and salt. In a medium bowl, sift together the whole wheat flour and almond meal. Pour in the liquid mixture and beat until fully incorporated. The mixture will be sandy. Press the crust mix into your tart pan and bake for 12-15 minutes, until just beginning to brown. Remove from the oven, and set aside to cool.

To make the filling, whisk together all the ingredients except the apricots. Pour the filling into the tart shell. Arrange the apricot halves in concentric circles on top of the filling. Bake the tart for 55 minutes. Cool at room temperature and enjoy!

This tart keeps well in the refrigerator and is even better the second day.

Leave a Reply

