Things to Draw: Love

Love, watercolor, acrylic, and colored pencil on paper

Of everything I could have drawn for this prompt, I chose to make a picture of my own little ideal of love.  I have a relatively short list of things I really want out of life, and even then I suppose I’m flexible. Anyway, in no particular order: a cottage in the woods, a family, a successful career as an artist, and to be a contribution to this world.

To me, happiness and love are pretty darn close to each other: giving and receiving with an open heart and mind. Maybe love is the act of doing so, while happiness is the state-of-mind when you do so. Either way, this little daydream encapsulates all that for me: a wee house (with a studio on the inside of course!) close to nature, a place to build a family and to cultivate love and joy and wisdom to be shared.

Leave a Reply

