Morning Pictures and Welcome to…Things to Draw

Look, a picture! Okay, so it’s not exactly a masterpiece, but it’s not supposed to be. If anything, it’s intended specifically to not be a masterpiece, to get me in the habit of just drawing stuff. Ten minutes, something to show for it, and a little bit more honesty in my heart for feeling that I’ve started my day in a meaningful way.

And while I’m sure there will be days where I produce sheer and utter crap, so far I’m kind of giddy about the whimsy and instinctive-ness of these pictures. Perhaps they don’t qualify as finished pieces or fine art, but they look like me, like my thoughts, my hopes, my fears and daydreams. I’ve always suspected that if I can succeed at honestly capturing my own experience of the world, that’s how I’ll have a shot at resonating with and moving others. I can’t help but feel that though we differ in our ways and means, the basic emotions of being a human are relatively fundamental. If I can make a picture of my own sadness or my aspiration, as true and clear as I can possibly feel it, it will speak to the sadness and aspiration of others, whatever theirs may be.

To further develop my creative practice and get other people involved, I’ve started a second project, in addition to my morning drawing. This project, I’m calling Things to Draw, and you will experience it here as TtD, followed by a title and an image. I’m asking people in my life to write down things they would like to see images of. I’m collecting all the things and putting them in a mug. Every day, I’ll pull one out and make a picture of it, and then post that picture here.

Welcome to the kick-off of Things to Draw. TtD: Flying

Flying, watercolor and acrylic on paper

Leave a Reply

