A New Language

I made my first print today. I’m showing up at 11:29 p.m. to tell you that. It’s Thursday, which is not technically the end of the week, but it’s the end of my week. Friday is my Monday. Confusing, I know. Point is, I am exhausted and I am almost out of time to make my weekly post, but I promised myself that I would post once a week, and I am not crapping out now.

In the image above, you can see a metal solar plate. To create it, I made a small assemblage on top of the unmarked plate, then held it in the sun for a minute, then washed it in water, and tada! a plate. The ultraviolet light of the sun hardened the exposed part of the treated metal, so that when I washed the plate, the areas I had covered with paper and cloth rinsed away, leaving grooves in which to roll ink.

On paper, the piece looks like this…

Tangled Luck, solar plate print on paper

I’m in awe. Printing has such a handmade, archival quality to it. I don’t know why I never took a printmaking class, possibly because I’ve felt like I have enough on my hands just trying to master drawing, painting, baking and navigating adult life, but I’m fast falling in love.

I have my friend Diana to thank for this. After looking at some of my work, she told me I should try printing, and then proceeded to give me a studio day with the former printmaking professor of her alma mater for Christmas. No big thing. (!)

There is never enough thanks for some one who helps you further uncover your voice, but thanks all the same, my dear friend. I’ve just discovered this new language, and already it feels like poetry. Here’s to new art forms. Here’s to incomparable friends.

 

Leave a Reply

